It’s the Weekend Baby!

Gemstone bead strings, jewellery making, gemstone jewellery, turquoise
New Stock
Another weekend has arrived– where is the time going?  Before you know it you’ll be making New Year’s Resolutions (and maybe breaking them!)…..have you thought of yours yet?
I have had a busy morning stocking up on lovely new beads for making more stunning gemstone jewellery this weekend.  Good job I had comfy shoes on – a 5 hr shop is not the faint hearted!  (It involved a McDonalds drive thru breakfast and a Wimpy cheese burger, so the pre-Christmas diet is not doing to well today either…)  A successful jewellery show was had this week, so I needed to re-stock – and now get busy beading!
Favourite stock item of the day:
Malachite beads, jewellery making, gemstones, jewelry
Malachite Oval Bead String
Aren’t these malachite beads awesome?  I couldn’t resist them – they look almost good enough to eat!
 
My second favourite purchase today are these unusual pyrite beads:
Pyrite beads, jewellery making, gemstones, beading
Pyrite Bead String

I can’t quite make up my mind what to combine them with – will have to play around and see what pops out at me.

 
Beading projects for the weekend include making up some more of my new “half-half” bracelets.  I am really enjoying colour blocking in my jewellery at the moment and these bracelets lend themselves to the trend beautifully.  Much of my jewellery is very simple in design as the gemstones speak for themselves – they take the starring role and they don’t always need a supporting act.  These bracelets are simple yet stunning. 
 
Turquoise and Tiger's Eye Bracelet, jewellery making, jewelry, gemstones
Turquoise and Tiger’s Eye “Half-Half” Bracelet
 
The combinations are endless – turquoise and tiger’s eye, cherry quartz and grey quartz, milky quartz and onyx, crackle fire agate and striped onyx, amethyst and malachite….and they look gorgeous stacked together.
 
Crackle Fire Agate and Striped Onyx Bracelet, jewelry, jewellery making, gemstnoes
Crackle Fire Agate and Striped Onyx “Half-Half” Bracelet
 
Along with stocking up on gemstones – onyx, tiger’s eye, turquoise, malachite, white howlite, agate, coral, amethyst – I also took delivery of my first sterling silver findings.  I would like to offer my jewellery buyers two options – a very affordable range using base metal findings and then a sterling silver range for those who are just plain fans of real silver or who are allergic to non-precious metals.  We’ll see how it goes – watch this space!
 
 
2 thoughts on “It’s the Weekend Baby!

    • Thanks Sue! I have a “half-half” bracelet using milky cream quartz rondelles and faceted black onyx which I wear nearly every day – I loved it so much I couldn’t part with it 🙂 Turquoise and tiger’s eye is the most popular combo x

Leave a Reply

