New Materials Arrived Today – Gemstone Chips and Tigers Eye Pendants

I have spent today at work in great anticipation.   My husband collected a consignment of new materials from one of my favourite gemstone suppliers earlier today – Silver Hills Gems in Hartbeespoort, north-west of Johannesburg.   Silver Hills Gems provides beautiful quality beads and findings at really good prices (check their website out: http://bronnrocks.com/catalog/ ). 
Silver Hills often have unusual focal beads that really appeal to me and my design style. Two items I was especialy looking forward to receiving were a Tigers Eye heart bead (28mm high) and a Tigers Eye flower shaped pendant (36mm).  So many design ideas are floating through my head right now!
I also ordered a lot of different gemstone chip strings – lemon jade, lapis lazuli, periodot, smokey quartz, red aventurine, aqua marine…….  I want to make some long chip necklaces, plain but in blocks of colour with small silver or gold accents in between the colour blocks.  Colour blocking is very much in trend right now.  Perhaps  peridot, smokey citrine and red aventurine……with gold spacer beads…. 
My new materials have arrived…..
So finally I have my hands on my new gems and can start playing with the different colour combinations, exploring which ones ‘talk’ to me. The most satisfying thing about making gemstone jewellery is the ability to turn a vision from my mind’s eye into a real piece of jewellery in my hand.  What could be better than that?  And knowing that other people are wearing my jewellery and seeing other people wear my jewellery, gives me way more joy than wearing it myself – and I love to wear jewllery!
Aren’t these Tigers Eye pendants beautiful?
Keep an eye out for the lovely results of these fabulous new materials….
 
Leave a Reply

